2021 Virtual Annual Meeting Announcement

Dear Colleagues, 

In light of concerns for public health and safety arising from the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and accompanying restrictions on in-person gatherings and travel, the SCE Cabinet has made the difficult but necessary decision to cancel the in-person Annual Meeting scheduled for Chicago in January 2021.  We will hold an online Annual Meeting of the Society of Christian Ethics in its stead.  The bulk of the meeting will take place during the originally scheduled dates, January 7-10, 2021, with some events occurring in the days immediately preceding and following.  While we all regret that we will not be able to gather in person, I am very pleased to share that our new meeting schedule will be able to include all of the content originally planned for the meeting.  The SCE office (Erin O’Leary) will be reaching out to all session organizers between today, Monday, August 31st and Friday, September 4th with a survey.  The survey will ask for your schedule preferences and needs.  The Program Taskforce and SCE staff will do our best to accommodate day and time preferences.

One benefit of our new format is that it will be possible to attend many more concurrent papers and panels; instead of 5 concurrent paper sessions, we will be featuring 13 such sessions.  Another benefit is that SCE members will be able to view recorded sessions after the fact, further extending the accessibility of the meeting.  We are also excited about the ways in which a virtual meeting opens up possibilities for participation by those who even in the absence of COVID-19 would not have been able to travel to Chicago.  

I would like to thank our Executive Director at Talley Management, Andrea Taylor, our Meeting Manager, Erin O’Leary, members of the SCE COVID-19 Contingency Task Force of the Board, and the members of the SCE Cabinet, for their patience, wisdom and creativity through this process.  We look forward to a highly successful Annual Meeting, and hope that you will join us! 

For the most up to date information regarding the Annual Meeting, please visit >> www.scethics.org/2021-annual-meeting

Sincerely yours, 

Jennifer A. Herdt, President 

Members of the Presidential Cabinet: Jennifer A. Herdt, James F. Keenan, Bryan N. Massingale, Patricia Beattie Jung

Members of the COVID-19 Contingency Task Force: Jennifer A. Herdt, James F. Keenan, Darlene Weaver, Scott Paeth, Aana Vigen