

## ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Saturday, January 11, 2014 11:00AM – 12:30PM

## **Minutes**

- 1. Cathleen Kaveny called the meeting to order. Judith Merkle was appointed Secretary pro-tem. Jean Porter was appointed Parliamentarian.
- 2. Agnes Brazal from the Philippines was acknowledged by Cathleen Kaveny. Professor Jan Jans invited the membership to the next Societas Ethica meeting in 2014.
- 3. Minutes of Saturday, January 5, 2013 SCE annual business meeting were approved.
- 4. Jennifer Beste, Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the slate of nominees: Cathleen Kaveny for President; Barbara Andolsen and William Schweiker for Vice President; Ma. Christina Astorga, Timothy Beach-Verhey, Erin Dufault-Hunter, Eric Gregory, Karen Peterson-Iyer, and Todd Whitmore for the Board. With no further nominations from the floor, ballots were cast and collected.
- 5. The following deceased SCE members were remembered:

Gerrit Gijsbert de Kruijf, died January 15, 2013 – Theo Boer Jean Bethke Elshtain, died August 11, 2013 – Stanley Hauerwas Roger Lincoln Shinn, died May 13, 2013 – Edward Long

- 6. Cathleen Kaveny proceeded with the following agenda items:
  - a. Welcome to 24 new full members, 38 new student members, 28 new full members who had been student members, and 3 new life time members.
  - b. Registration and membership statistics were presented.
  - c. Cathleen reported from Thursday Board meeting that:
    - i. The evaluation for this meeting will be online after meeting; notices will be sent.
    - ii. The Bylaw change was introduced. The change appears in Article 8, Section 2. The Board approved the change at the 2012 meeting with notice given to the membership as required in the Call to meeting in September 2013. A friendly amendment was suggested to change the word members to participant in items 1 and 2. It was accepted by the proposing committee. The membership voted by ballot and was approved by membership.
    - iii. SCE logo at the top of the agenda was approved by the Board.
    - iv. After a search for a new treasurer, the Board approved the selection of Patrick Flanagan. He will spend this next year shadowing Brian Matz to learn the duties of the position.
    - v. 21<sup>st</sup> Century Initiatives: Cathleen Kaveny clarified the nature of various groups in the society. She explained the differences between Interest groups and working groups. The purpose of the later is to bring under-represented groups into the society.
  - d. Cathleen reminded membership of donation options:
    - i. International Speaker Fund
    - ii. 21<sup>st</sup> Century Initiatives
    - iii. Student Membership Subsidy

- iv. Lifetime Achievement Award
- v. 2020 Future of Ethics
- vi. General (Unrestricted)
- e. Because of membership requests, limited meat will be served at the annual meeting.
- f. Cathleen announced the 2015 program theme: The theme of the 2015 conference will be "Law and Christian Ethics." This theme is meant to be very broad, to cover topics ranging from theological questions (e.g., law and grace in the Christian life; the relation of Law and Gospel; the Old Law and the New Law; natural law and divine command) to questions of Christian jurisprudence (e.g., the relationship of law and morality in a pluralistic society; the moral basis of international law), to neuralgic contemporary questions of law and policy (e.g., the tension between religious freedom and women's rights or right to marriage equality). Also welcome are reflections on how Christians ought to engage questions of law and policy in a pluralistic society (e.g., with biblically based

arguments; natural law arguments; pragmatic arguments). These examples, of course, are meant to be illustrative, not prescriptive or exhaustive.

- 7. New appointments were announced for the following committees:
  - a. Nominating Committee: Grace Kao (Chair/Bd rep), Mary Hirschfeld, Willis Jenkins, Terrence Johnson, Jonathan Rothchild
  - b. Executive Committee: Allen Verhey (Past Pres), (VP), Cathleen Kaveny (President), Mark Allman (Editor), Tobias Winright (Editor), Jonathan Tran, Agnes Chiu (Student), Stacey Floyd-Thomas (Exec Dir ex officio), Linda Schreiber (Assoc Exec Dir ex officio)
  - c. Program Committee: Allen Verhey (Past Pres), Cathleen Kaveny (Pres), (VP), Mark Allman (Editor), Tobias Winright (Editor), Jonathan Tran, Ron Hamel, Agnes Chiu (Student), Stacey Floyd-Thomas (Exec Dir ex officio), SJE Representative (TBA), Linda Schreiber (Assoc Exec Dir ex officio)
- 8. Brian Matz presented the Treasurer's report. Among the points he pointed out to the membership was the indication that the market has advanced the endowment fund. This fund is used to lower the costs of the annual meeting, among other projects of the society. It was clarified that the society utilizes socially responsible investment funds.
- 9. Stacey Floyd-Thomas, Executive Director, commended the officers of the society for their leadership during this year. She shared the location of future meetings: 2015 Renaissance St. Louis; 2016 Fairmont Royal York Toronto; 2017 Marriott New Orleans; 2018 yet to be determined. 2019 Marriott Louisville. Meetings are planned in locations which respect the needs of membership to meet both in the East and in the West. She also shared that the SCE is now using INMEX to find and contract with hotels. Non-union hotels may still be used based on their history
- 10. Cheryl Kirk-Duggan, Chair of the Professional Conduct Committee, reported that there has been one question regarding intellectual integrity during this year and the issue has been resolved.
- 11. The report from the *Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics* was presented by Mark Allman and Tobias Winright. They thanked those who assisted them in their transition to editorship of the journal. Volume 34 no. 2 has been sent to the membership. They announced the journal will now be indexed on JSTOR and PROQUEST, in addition to ATLA and Project Muse. This will increase access to the journal.
- 12. Charles Mathewes, Chair of the 2020 Future of Christian Ethics Committee, shared that the committee has completed the main task of their work. It was shared with the society on Friday morning of the meeting at a special session. The report of the 2020 committee was communicated to the membership.
- 13. New Business: Attention was drawn by a monetary policy group to the possibility of bank interventions into the financial resources of the society and institutions to which we belong which could result in the confiscation of these funds. This could be caused by global banking instability. It was suggested that a warning "Our bank Deposits are No Longer Safe" to be sent to the membership. The motion was discussed. It was further moved to commit the motion to the Board of Directors for further study. This motion passed. The Board will review the motion.
- 14. Election results: The membership voted to pass the amendment to the By Laws mentioned in number 6. Eric Gregory, Karen Peterson-Iyer, and Todd Whitmore for the Board (Class of 2018). William Schweiker for Vice-President. Cathleen Kaveny President.
- 15. Adjournment