SCE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Saturday, January 8, 2011 11:00AM – 12:30PM

Minutes

- 1. Meeting was called to order by President Doug Ottati at 11:12 a.m.
 - a. Timothy Sedgwick was appointed Secretary pro-tem.
 - b. Warren Copeland was appointed Parliamentarian.
- 2. **Minutes** of Saturday, January 9, 2010: Scott Paeth moved, seconded by Gina Wolfe, that the minutes of the January 9, 2010, meeting be approved. They were approved without dissent.
- 3. Rebecca Todd Peters gave the report from the **Nominating Committee**. Nominees for vice president were Miguel De La Torre and Cheryl Kirk Duggan. Nominees for the Board were Jennifer Beste, Melanie Harris, Grace Kao, Travis Kroeker, Paulinus Odozor, and Christopher Steck. Ballots were then collected.
- 4. Commemoration of Deceased Members: Robin Lovin memorialized Donald Browning.
- 5. President's Report Douglas Ottati
 - a. The President invited Susan Frank Parsons to address the Society. She offered greetings from the Society for the Study of Christian Ethics and invited member of the SCE to attend the 2011 meeting of the Society for the Study of Christian Ethics which will meet in Cambridge and focus on the ethic of sports.
 - b. The President welcomed Neil Messer who offered greetings from the Societas Ethica and invited SCE members to the next meeting of the Society and to submit paper proposals. The meeting will be August 25-28, 2011, and focus on the quest for perfection in medicine.
 - c. The President recognized new members of the SCE.
 - d. The President offered a report from Thursday, January 6, 2011, SCE board meeting. He indicated the criteria that are to be used to inform the decision of the program committee in the selection of the papers that are chosen from the annual meeting apart from the "blind" selection process. This has constitutes 25% of presentations.
 - e. The President reported on the appointment of a new Executive Director for the SCE. He asked the members to thank Stewart Herman for his service as Executive Director. Members stood and expressed their thanks. The President gave Stewart Herman a check from the SCE to give to a charity of his choice. Stewart Herman addressed the SCE and thanked his mentors, Robin Lovin, James Gustafson, and Chris Gambell and noted that they introduced him to the importance and dynamics of voluntary societies and their contribution to the common good. He expressed his pleasure in working with strong minded Presidents who have moved the SCE in significant ways and to those who willingly volunteered when requested to offer their services. He asked for thanks for Linda Schreiber and the SCE members responded with their applause.
 - f. The President indicated that the search committee for a new Executive Director recommended and the Board accepted and invited Stacey Floyd-Thomas to be the next Executive Director. Having accepted the appointment, Stacy Floyd Thomas addressed the membership and thanked Stewart Herman and Linda Schreiber for their contributions and for the ongoing work in enabling the transition of the offices of the Executive Director.

6. Vice President's Report – Stanley Hauerwas

Rising President Stanley Hauerwas greeted the members of SCE and indicated that the plenary focus for the 2012 program in Washington, D.C., would be on the war in Afghanistan and invited members to consider submission on Christian ethics and war. He announced the following committee membership appointments:

- a. Nominating Committee: Gerald McKenny, Theresa Lysaught, Eric Gregory, Ted Smith
- b. Executive Committee: Stanley Hauerwas, VP, Doug Ottati, Mary Jo Iozzio, Patricia Beattie Jung, Erica Kierulf
- c. Program Committee: Stanley Hauerwas, VP, Doug Ottati, Mary Jo Iozzio, Patricia Beattie Jung, Erica Kierulf, Jennifer Herdt

7. Executive Director's Report – Stewart Herman

- a. The Executive Director announced registration and membership statistics. A correction was made regarding the actual number of active members. Peter Paris asked how much dues one had to pay if inactive for five years. He indicated that one could become active again without paying past dues.
- b. The Executive Director announced that the next annual meeting in 2012 will be at the Grand Hyatt, Washington DC, in 2013 at the Conrad Hilton in Chicago Hilton, and in 2014 in downtown Seattle. He asked members on their evaluation forms to indicate preferences for the site of future cities.
- 8. Brian Matz offered the **Treasurer's report** including the budget for 2011-2013. He noted the profits from annual meetings, which have been regular but have not been planned, and indicated that these monies have contributed to the operating budget and have enabled keeping the dues from rising. He noted as well that \$90,000 was being set aside in a restricted reserve account invested in a bond fund. Presently \$190,000 is in the endowment fund and \$60,000 to \$70,000 in cash reserves.
- 9. **Report from Professional Conduct Committee.** Cristina Traina indicated that the Committee had received no complaints and indicated that members of the committee were available regarding any concerns that members might have. She noted members of the committee and thanked them for their service.
- 10. Mary Jo Iozzio **report on the** *Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics* and indicated that an agreement was made with Punnoose to publish two issues from papers of the society as Studies in Christian Ethics. She gave thanks to outgoing members of the editorial board.
- Election results were announced: President: Stanley Hauerwas Vice President: Miguel De La Torre Members of the Board, class of 2015: Jennifer Beste, Melanie Harris, and Grace Kao
- 12. President Doug Ottati thanked out-going members of the Board and invited new members to join old members to the Board meeting at 6:45 a.m. on Sunday. He invited the new president, Stanley Hauerwas, to address the members.
- 13. Stanley Hauerwas asked the membership to express their appreciation to Douglas Ottati. Members responded with applause. Stanley Hauerwas indicated his first act as president was to announce that the meeting was adjourned. The meeting was adjourned at 12:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Timothy F. Sedgwick