SCE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Atlanta, Georgia Saturday, January 5, 2008 11:10 a.m. –12:35 p.m. Minutes

- 1. Meeting was called to order by President Christine Gudorf at 11:10.
- 2. Appointed as Secretary Pro-tem was Tim Sedgwick.
- 3. Appointed as Parliamentarian was David H. Smith.
- 4. The minutes of the Saturday January 6, 2007, meeting was approved with the correction of the spelling of Joe Pettit in item 8a.
- 5. The following deceased members were commemorated: Emily Arndt by Bill Mattison, G. Scott Becker by Glen Stassen, John P. Boyle by Charles Curran, Roland Andre Delattre by Max Stackhouse, and Paul M. Harrison by Jon Gunneman.
- 6. Cheryl Kirk-Duggan, chairperson of the nominating committee, thanked members of the nominating committee and announced nominations for president, vice-president, and board of directors: Darryl Trimiew for President; Daniel Finn and William Schweiker for vice-president; and Victor Anderson, Barbara Hilkert Andolsen, Stacy Floyd-Thomas, John Kelsay, Irene Oh, and Glen Stassen for board of directors. Max Stackhouse moved that the nominations for vice-president be closed. The motion was seconded and approved. The motion was made that nominations for board of directors be closed. The motion was seconded and approved.
- 7. Christine Gudorf offered the President's Report.
 - a. She reported changes in membership and the addition of new members.
 - b. Welcomed Susan Frank Parsons, representing Great Britain's Society for the Study of Christian Ethics. Susan Parsons welcomed members of SCE to meetings of the Society. Next year's focus will be on the Ten Commandments.
 - c. Report the addition of the Asian and Asian-American Work Group, the institution of a student breakfast with a scholar, and the initiation of a mentoring process for students for submitting paper proposal.
 - d. Christine Gudorf thanked June O'Connor for her developing and funding of the International Speaker Fund which brings persons to the SCE meetings. June O'Connor spoke to the Society and encouraged members to contribute to the Fund. This year the Fund brought to the meeting Juan Jose Bautista Segales. She also invited members to contact and discuss with international scholars the possibilities of attending an SCE meeting. The Fund has been able to contribute up to \$1500 in support. Preference is to be given to those representing developing nations.
- 8. Darryl Trimiew announced that Christine Gudorf had agreed to serve as the new chair of the International Speaker Fund. He then announced the members of the 2009 nominating committee: William O'Neill, chair and members Sondra Wheeler, Simeon Ilesanmi, Grace Kao, and Angela Sims.

- 9. Stewart Herman thanked the Associate Executive Director Linda Schreiber and student Laura Bloch for their continuing contribution to the Society. Society members gave Linda Schreiber a standing round of applause. He reviewed registration statistics and membership statistics and indicated opportunities for gifts for the work of the Society. He reported that the Society now works with a hotel planning agent and will continue to seek hotels that are worker-supportive. The cancellation in May of this year's meeting by the Downtown Hyatt Hotel in Atlanta resulted in a \$60,000 refund. The Board will consider the use of these monies at their meeting on Sunday morning. Next year's meeting will be in Chicago (2009), San Jose (2010), and New Orleans (2011).
- 10. George Crowell spoke from the floor and suggested that when we bring in speakers that the registration be waived. Rebecca Todd Peters spoke in support of such action. She also suggested that speakers might be offered a small honorarium. June O'Connor suggested that some of the \$60,000 windfall might be used in support of student members. Ray Roberts suggested that those funds be used to invite scholars from the third world in addition to those financed from the Speakers Fund. Stacey Floyd-Thomas suggested that some monies might well be used to offer dissertation awards and wards for first book projects.
- 11. Brian Matz reviewed the financial statements. This included raising the \$6,500 projected interest income to \$10,000. Dues will remain unchanged at least through 2009 as will most likely be the registration cost for the annual meeting.
- 12. Cristina Traina reported for the professional conduct committee and indicated that no complaints were received since the last annual meeting. The committee is reviewing the policy and procedure for addressing grievances.
- 13. Patricia Jung reported on the *Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics*. Because of increases in sales and advertising and other incomes she reported a surplus of approximately \$19,000 and therefore no subsidy was needed from the Society. Fifty-six papers were submitted last year from which twenty-three were accepted for publication. She thanked student Melissa Browning for her work for the *Journal*.
- 14. Christine Gudorf recognized Emilie Townes as the new president of the American Academy of Religion. Members stood and gave her their applause.
- 15. Michelle Clifton-Soderstrom reported from the work of the Women's Caucus and the fiveyear study, "Enabling Family-Friendly Institution: Creative Practices". The completed report will be distributed to the Society and the Society will be asked to endorse the report and recommendations at the 2009 annual meeting.
- 16. Cheryl Kirk-Duggan reported on the elections. Darryl Trimiew was elected president; Daniel Finn vice-president; John Kelsay, Irene Oh, and Glen Stassen board members. (Note: immediately following the meeting, Barbara Hilkert Andolsen, as next highest votegetter, was asked by the new president to fill the remainder of Daniel Finn's term as boardmember.)
- 17. Christine Gudorf indicated that there was no new business. She adjourned the meeting at 12:35.