## SCE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Saturday, January 5, 2013 11:00AM – 12:30PM

## Minutes

- 1. Miguel De La Torre called the meeting to order. Judith Merkle appointed as Secretary pro-tem. Jean Porter is appointed as Parliamentarian.
- 2. Minutes of the Saturday, January 7, 2012 (Appendix A) was approved.
- 3. Gloria Albrecht, chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the following candidates for election: For President, Allen Verhey; for Vice President, M. Cathleen Kaveny and Cheryl Kirk-Duggan; for Board of Directors, Ilsup Ahn, Jennifer Harvey, Ramon Luzarraga, Samuel Roberts, Laura Stivers, Jonathan Tran. Nominations were opened to the floor. None being offered, ballots were collected.
- 4. The following deceased members of the SCE were memorialized: Leentie de Lange -July 5, 2011 - by JM (Koos) Vorster Ada Maria Isasi-Diaz –May 13, 2012 –by Mary E. Hunt Olga Huchingson -October 11, 2012 Beverly Wildung Harrison –December 15, 2012 -by Carol Robb Philip S. Keane – December 28, 2012 -by Charles Curran
- 5. Miguel De La Torre, President, recognized the new full members, student members, transferred status, and new life members (Appendix B).

He reported from the Thursday Board meeting, the following items:

- i. The President asked members to forward press releases to be posted on website
- ii. The President announced the SCE is in a transition process to paperless for Call for Proposals and Call to Meetings mailings.
- iii. The President reported that presenters will announce at each session if photography or recording is prohibited.
- iv. The President announced that evaluation of the annual meeting online after meeting; notices will be sent
- v. The President noted that Bylaw change had been made and has been distributed to the membership. See: Appendix C-1
- b. The President announced the appointment of new JSCE co-editors: Mark Allman, Tobias Winright
- 6. Vice President's Report Allen Verhey
  - a. The Vice President announced the 2014 program theme, "Recovering the Theological Traditions". See:Appendix C-2. The plenary addresses will be given by Lisa Cahill and Gene Outka.
  - b. The Vice President reported new appointments had been made to committees.
    - i. Nominating Committee: Jennifer Beste (Chair/Bd rep), Victor Anderson, Doug Schuurman, Rebekah Miles, Preston Williams
    - Executive Committee: Allen Verhey (Pres), Miguel DeLaTorre (Past Pres), Allen Verhey (VP), Mark Allman (Editor), Tobias Winright (Editor), M. Therese Lysaught, Sofia Betancourt (Student), Stacey Floyd-Thomas (Exec Dir ex officio), Linda Schreiber (Assoc Exec Dir ex officio)
    - Program Committee: Allen Verhey (Pres), Miguel DeLaTorre (Past Pres), ? (VP), Mark Allman (Editor), Tobias Winright (Editor), M. Therese Lysaught, Cynthia Moe-Lobeda, Sofia Betancourt (Student), Stacey Floyd-Thomas (Exec Dir ex officio), SJE Representative (TBA), Linda Schreiber (Assoc Exec Dir ex officio)
- 7. Treasurer's report Brian Matz
  - a. The President invited Brian Matz to give the treasurer's report.
  - b. The membership was provided with the Statement of activities and budget for 2013-2015. See: Appendix D. He noted that the investment funds were positive, and were placed in socially responsible funds. He noted that the 2012 actual income indicated that the annual meeting surfaced a profit. This has also happened in the last few years. Membership dues do not cover the costs of our total operation hence these profits from annual meetings help the financial health of the organization. The society on the whole has weathered the recession quite well. He also noted that

the decision to draw five percent from the Society's equities for current expenses, has also helped to reduce the registration fee for the annual meeting. He noted the 53.43 of the 175.00 registration fee went for the Presidential Reception. He asked the membership to evaluate if they wanted to spend this money in this way for future meetings.

- 8. Executive Director's Report Stacey Floyd-Thomas
  - a. The President invited Stacey Floyd-Thomas to give the Executive Director's Report.
  - b. The Executive Director thanked the officers of the Society, the Board, volunteers, and Linda Schreiber for their outstanding support to her office.
  - c. The Executive Director gave the registration and membership statistics for past meetings as well as the Chicago meeting. See: Appendix E. She noted that reflection is ongoing on the criteria for selecting a place for the meeting, and asked the membership to give feedback regarding the factors which should guide this selection.
  - d. The Executive Director spoke of the union questions which arose regarding the Denver meeting and the decision to change this meeting to another venue to support these labor issues.
  - e. She announced that the 2014 meeting will be held at the Seattle Westin. The 2015 meeting will be at the Renaissance St. Louis; and in 2016 at the Fairmont Royal York Toronto.
  - f. The Executive Director explained that a visit to a site to explore options for our future meetings are provided gratis by the site.
- 9. Report from Professional Conduct Committee
  - a. The President asked the chair of the Professional Conduct Committee, Cheryl Kirk-Duggan, to give the committee report.
  - b. She reported that an issue regarding the use of the membership directory was raised by a member, and was resolved. The membership directory is not to be used for other purposes, other than those specified on the website.
- 10. Report from the Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics
  - a. Patricia Beattie Jung reported that the board had been expanded because membership had submitted so much of their work to this endeavor.
  - b. Mary Jo Iozzio reported that 5, 600 surplus was offered to the society for this year's operation. This year's issue is a little late because of production issues. The Editors will offer a chart which indicates a tracking of trends regarding submissions to the Journal.
  - c. The Society as well as the President thanked Patricia Beattie Jung and Mary Jo Iozzio, as well Lois Malcolm for their service to the society.
- 11. The President asked for questions from the floor.
  - a. Gina Wolfe raised a question regarding point 3 in the proposed the by-laws regarding the program committee. The President responded the committee will continue to clarify the language in the proposed changed.
- 12. Election results.

Gloria Albrecht announced the results of the Board elections.

- a. President: Allen Verhey
- b. Vice President: M. Cathleen Kaveny
- c. Board Members: Jennifer Harvey, Laura Stivers, Jonathan Tran.
- 13. The President called Allen Verhey to the podium as the new President. The new President awarded the past President a society pin and thanked him for his service. The past President offered the new President a celebratory bottle of wine for his new position. The new president adjourned the meeting at 12:15.