## SCE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Saturday, January 6, 2007 4:00 – 5:05 PM Minutes

- 1. Meeting was called to order by President William Werpehowski at 4 p.m.
- 2. Appointed as Secretary Pro-tem was Tim Sedgwick.
- 3. Appointed as Parliamentarian was David H. Smith.
- 4. The Minutes of the Saturday, January 7, 2006 Item 10, were corrected. "The inclusion of the Journal in *ATL*" should read "in ATLAS." In item 1, at the time the meeting was called to order. That should be at 4 p.m.) The minutes as corrected were approved.
- 5. The following deceased members were commemorated: Thomas F. Schindler SS by Philip Keane SS; Dennis Brodeur by Tobias Winright; Vincent E. Rush by Ron Hamel; and William (Bill) Gibson by Andy Smith.
- 6. Bill Werpehowski recognized the new members of the Society. He noted the addition of Mark Tarpley, a doctoral student from Southern Methodist University. He invited the new students to stand, and then asked new full members to stand.
- 7. Tom Massaro for the nomination committee thanked members of the committee and announced nominations. No additional nominations were made from the floor. All members present were invited to cast their ballot for President, Vice-President and officers: Christine E. Gudorf was, as vice-president, the sole nominee for President. Nominees for vice-president were James M. Childs Jr. and Darryl Trimiew. Nominees for Board members included Maria Antonaccio, John Bowlin, Jan M. Jans, Judith Merkle, William O'Neill, and Gary Simpson. There were no additional nominations from the floor.
- 8. Bill Werpehowski offered the President's Report.
  - a. He reported the nominating committee for 2008: Cheryl Kirk-Duggan (chair), Julia Fleming, John Hart, Elizabeth Barre, Joe Petit. Members were encouraged to contact committee members with nominations.
  - b. No cases were brought before the professional conduct committee in 2006. Members of that committee: Christina Traina, Rebecca Miles, Robin Lovin, and Paulinus Odozor.
  - c. He announced that the search committee for treasurer (David H. Smith, chair, and members Amy Laura Hall and Dan Finn) recommended to the Board of Directors Brain Matz who was approved by the Board of Directors at their meeting on Thursday, January 4.
  - d. A note of thanks was made for the service of members of the Board who will be stepping down this year: Nigel John Biggar, Jennifer Herdt, and Mary Jo Iozzio who will though continue to serve on the Board as co-editor of the *Journal*. He also thanked the past president Jean Porter.

- 9. Stewart W. Herman, Executive Director, offered the Executive Director's Report on the statistics for the annual meeting, attached to these minutes. He then announced that the meeting for 2010 meeting will be in San Jose, CA.
- 10. Dan Finn, treasurer through 2006, offered the financial report, attached to these minutes. The question from the floor was asked about reporting of interest. Dan Finn indicated that the members receive a summary financial report and that a full report was available to all members.
- 11. Mary Jo Iozzio presented the report on the *Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics*, which she is co-editor with Patricia Beattie Jung, and indicated that with the publication of two issues per year there is a doubling of articles published and with that the need for twice as many reviewers. She introduced Lois Malcolm as book review editor of the *Journal*.
- 12. No old business was reported.
- 13. Under new business several announcements were made.

a. Stewart Herman encouraged members to complete evaluations of the meeting and consider donations to the international travel fund, the student support fund, and the fund to support  $21^{st}$  century initiatives.

b. David Clough from the University of Durham, secretary of the Society for the Study of Christian Ethics from the UK offered greetings and reported on their recent meeting and encouraged members of SCE to attend future meetings.

c. It was reported that Allen Verhey is quite ill and members were asked to keep him in their prayers.

- 14. The meeting was recessed until the nominating committee could finish the tally of the election results. Upon their return the meeting was reconvened. William Werpehowski announced that Christine E. Gudorf was approved as President, Darryl Trimiew was elected as Vice President, and the election of two of the three new Board members: Maria Antonaccio and William O'Neill. A second ballot was requested to determine the third board member. The two nominees with the next most votes were Jan M. Jans and Judith Merkle. Ballots were distributed and counted. Jan M. Jans was elected as the third member of the class of 2011.
- 15. As past president, William Werpehowski extended his congratulations to the newly elected officers and reminded them that the first meeting would begin at 6:45 am tomorrow morning. He also asked the members to thank Jeff Geis, student assistant, for his work at the registration desk and Associate Executive Director Linda Schreiber. Members gave their applause.
- 16. Past president Jean Porter thanked William Werpehowski, followed by the appreciative applause of members.
- 17. The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 p.m.