

## ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Saturday, January 5, 2019 11:00AM – 12:30PM

## Agenda

- 1. President Diane Yeager called the meeting to order.
  - a. Judith Merkle was appointed as Secretary pro-tem.
  - b. Rubén Rosario Rodríguez was appointed as Parliamentarian.
  - c. Minutes of the Saturday, January 6, 2018, meeting was approved.
- 2. MT Davila, Chair of the Nominating Committee, introduced the candidates for election:
  - a. For President: Patricia Beattie Jung
  - b. For President Elect: Jennifer Herdt
  - c. For Vice President: James Keenan and Rebecca Todd Peters
  - d. For Board: Christina Astorga, Jana Bennett, David Cloutier, Matthew Gaudet, Elizabeth Hinson-Hasty, and Asante Todd.
  - e. For 2-year Student Board position: Dannis Matteson and Nikia Robert
  - f. For 1-year Student Board position: Ryan Juskus and Shatavia Wynn

With no further nominations from the floor, ballots were collected.

- 3. The follow members were commemorated: George Crowell, who died July 23, 2018 was remembered by Norman Faramelli; Katie Cannon, who died August 8, 2018, was remembered by Emilie Townes; Alan B. Anderson, who died September 3, 2018, was remembered by Peter Paris; and Kieran Peter Nolan OSB, who died December 30, 2018, was remembered by Gina Wolfe.
- 4. Greetings were extended by Esther D. Reed, President of Society for the Study of Christian Ethics (SSCE), to SCE members. She announced that September 5-7, 2019, will be the annual meeting of the SSCE in London. The theme of the conference is Christian Ethics: Teaching and Formation.
- 5. Kevin Carnahan and Scott Paeth reported on the *Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics*. They reported the statistics regarding proposals for the convention and the Journal. They announced the change from Georgetown University Press to the Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC) as the publisher of the Journal. This change was stimulated by changes in the publishing business itself and specialization in journal publication. A new link on the SCE website will enable access to the journal and its past issues for members of the society.
- 6. Darryl Stephens reported from Professional Conduct Committee. Members of the committee were recognized. Aspects of professional conduct were discussed and examples were given, especially in areas where there is a power differential. The committee responded to one complaint this year. The post-convention survey will include a couple of questions requested and written by the Professional Conduct Committee.
- 7. Patrick Flanagan, Treasurer, reported by providing members with financial statements which indicated the society is in healthy financial shape. The sustainability of the society is impacted by the same factors facing the economy, and educational institutions as a whole. Convention planning involves maintaining expenditures which are needed to provide a good meeting, while cutting unnecessary costs. Location of the meeting impacts costs. Investment income is being analyzed regarding cutting lesser performing investments. Again a balance is needed to minimize the overall spending down of our investments so interests from these accounts can sustain creative and future initiatives important to the society.
- 8. As part of her President's Report, Diane Yeager recognized the Board approval of new full members, new student members, and student members who have received their doctorates and are being received as full members. She shared the statistics of the meeting and of membership.

She indicated that the 2020 meeting will be at the Renaissance Downtown Washington DC Hotel; 2021 meeting will be at the Palmer House Hilton Chicago; 2022 will be at the Hilton Orange County, Costa Mesa, CA; 2023-2025 meetings will find us back at the Palmer House Hilton Chicago.

The Thursday Board meeting included the following decisions:

- The Board is implementing its plan for the retirement of the Executive Administrator which will occur at the end of February 2020. In 2018 Transitional Executive Director Gina Wolfe was directed by the Board to contact management firms for proposals regarding the future management of the Society. Two finalists were selected, and both made presentations to the Board. One was selected by the Board. A contract is now being negotiated. The membership thanked Gina Wolfe for her assistance in this matter. Stage two of the implementation, also under the leadership of Gina Wolfe, begins with the contract negotiation and will include the actual transfer of management responsibilities to the company that has been selected.
- The second major area of board consideration concerned finances. Deficit spending is not sustainable. A balanced operational budget required the board to increase dues by 15% in all income categories. The increase will become effective October 1, 2019. Members were encouraged to pay dues every year rather than just when they are able to attend the annual meeting. A financial forum with the board was offered for members interested after the meeting.
- 9. Patricia Jung, President Elect, highlighted that her committee appointments are on page five in the program book. She shared that her priorities for this next year include:
  - to continue to move the transition process forward and to continue a sustainable budget

-to encourage the Board to engage in listening sessions with the membership as suggested by the Charting the Future report

-to market our society to those whose interests might intersect fruitfully with the mission of our society

The Annual Meeting will be held January 9-12, 2020. There will be no specific theme. Members were encouraged to focus on those practical and methodological issues which seem critical for our corporate reflection. Her plenary speakers will be Emile M. Townes and James F. Keenan.

- 10. New Business. Because of time limits those with new business were encouraged to convey their concerns in writing to the new Board and president for consideration at the April Executive Committee meeting.
- 11. It was announced that election results will be communicated as soon as possible on social media and via an email blast to everyone attending the meeting. They also will be noted on the society's website.
- 12. Election results came in after the meeting ended. They are: President: Patricia Beattie Jung; President Elect: Jennifer Herdt; Vice-President: James Keenan; Board Members: Jana Bennett, David Cloutier, Elizabeth Hinson-Hasty; Student Board Member (2-year term): Nikia Robert; Student Board Member (1-year term): Ryan Juskus.
- 13. The outgoing Board members were recognized and thanked for their service including Angela Sims, Sharon Tan and Reggie Williams. David Gushee was also thanked for his service in the Presidential Cabinet as Past President.
- 14. Diane Yeager gave the gavel to Patti Jung, the new President. President Jung recognized Diane with the Presidential pin. She then adjourned the meeting.