

## ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING Saturday, January 11, 2020 11:00AM – 12:30PM

## **Minutes**

- 1. President Patricia Beattie Jung called the meeting to order. Judith Merkle and Andrea Taylor were appointed Secretary *pro-tem*. Rubén Rosario Rodríguez was appointed Parliamentarian. Minutes of the Saturday, January 5, 2019 meeting were approved.
- 2. Our management staff from Talley were introduced: Andrea Taylor, Executive Director, and Erin O'Leary, Meeting and Program Coordinator. Ms. Taylor explained the background of the management team. Ms. O'Leary introduced herself and offered greetings to the group.
- 3. Aana Marie Vigen, chair of the Nominating Committee, introduced the committee: Ilsup Ahn, Victor Carmona, Mary Nickel, Down Nothwehr, Darrin Synder Belousek.

The nominees for the 2020 election were then introduced: Jennifer Harvey and Bryan Massingale for Vice President; Trevor Bechtel, Ki Joo Choi, Nichole Flores, Vincent Lloyd, Jonathan Rothchild, C. Melissa Snarr for Board; and Eliezer Rolon Jeong and Nicole Sarita Symmonds for the Student Board position, for a two-year term. Candidates were thanked for their willingness to serve. There were no nominations from the floor. Vote was made to close nominations.

Andrea Taylor then reviewed the process of e-voting. Ballots were passed for those wishing to vote with paper. Electronic voting was conducted and paper ballots were collected.

- 4. The Bylaw Revisions for Treasurer and Life Membership were introduced. Vote was by e-voting and by paper by those wishing that option. President Jung reminded the group that the rationale was explained to the body before the meeting. She reviewed the rationale with the group before voting and offered time for discussion. There was no discussion. Voting was conducted.
- 5. Commemoration of Deceased Members

Ray Gingerich, June 17, 2018 – remembered by Barbara Hilkert Andolsen Beth Haile, November 6, 2019 – remembered by Jana Bennett Simon G. Harak, SJ, November 4, 2019 – remembered by Thomas Massaro, SJ Alan Johnson, November 5, 2018 – remembered by David Gushee Gerard Mannion, September 21, 2019 – remembered by David Hollenbach Chomingwen Pond, August 4, 2019 – remembered by Traci West Charles West, November 10, 2019 – remembered by Peter Paris

- 6. Rev. Dr. Helen Dawes, Treasurer of Society for the Study of Christian Ethics (SSCE) extended greetings. Dr. Dawes invited the society from the 10<sup>th</sup>-12<sup>th</sup> of September, 2020 to their conference in Durham on Ethics and the New Testament. In 2021 the conference focus will be Truth in Christian Ethics, also to be held in Durham.
- 7. Prof. Myung-Su Yang, the global scholar, was introduced. The society welcomed him.
- 8. Report from the *Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics*' editors, Kevin Carnahan and Scott Paeth, indicated they have published two issues of the Journal. The acceptance rate is now 17% and satisfaction was expressed with the change in publishers. They thanked those willing to referee papers at the convention. New members were added to the editorial board and past members were thanked. They announced that the Journal of Religious Ethics is looking for a new editorial pair.

- 9. Wyndy Corbin Reuschling, Chair of the Professional Conduct Committee, introduced members of her committee. She reported that this year's work concentrated on facilitating the position of the one making the complaint in the professional conduct process.
- 10. Patrick Flanagan gave the Treasurer's Report. See attachment. He noted the financial challenges of the future growth of the society; among these are new focus in the budgeting process; supporting members financial needs to attend the meeting; monitoring and affirming new needs presented by groups in the society. The trend in changes in membership in the future will raise new financial questions.
- 11. In the President's report, Patti Jung acknowledged the following: new members, those moving from student status to full member status, and two lifetime membership. Thanks for service was given to outgoing Treasurer, to Melanie Jones for coordinating social media, to outgoing Board members. The new treasurer Lincoln Rice was introduced to the society.

Jung shared membership and meeting statistics noting

She highlighted the locations of future meetings: 2021 – Palmer House Hilton Chicago; 2022-Hilton Orange County, Costa Mesa, CA; and 2023-2025- Palmer House Hilton Chicago.

12. Jennifer Herdt, President Elect, directed members to the program book to note committee appointments. She directed people to page 10 in the program booklet for a complete committee list. She indicated the priorities for this next year included working with Tally in their first year in management. A new website solution will be implemented. We will foster moments of engagement beyond the annual meeting through digital contact.

The Annual Meeting, January 7-10, 2021, program theme will be, "Questioning the Human".

- 13. New Business. There was no new business.
- 14. Announcement of Votes on Bylaw Revisions and Election Results: both resolutions were passed. Elections were announced. Nicole Sarita Symmonds, Melissa Snarr, Nicole Flores, Ki Joo Choi, Brian Massingale, James Keenan, and Jennifer Herdt were elected.
- 15. Adjournment